You are here: Home Ministries >> Cemetery
The parish cemetery, nestled behind our beautiful Gothic-style stone church, is the last resting place for many of our pioneer families, mostly of Irish nationality who settled in Osgoode and the southern part of Gloucester Township. As one reads the inscriptions on the weather-beaten tombstones, Native of County Armagh, Ireland Co., Cork County Carlow, Down, Kilkenny, Tyrone, Wexford, etc., one realizes these early immigrants from Ireland were a hardy folk and hardy they had to be. They knew the reality of suffering, hunger, illness and even death. Along with other pioneers, they helped open this country and gave us a safe, happy environment in which we live.
As early as 1834, the Bytown Prescott Stage Coach passed this way. The 1851 map of Gloucester Township shows the road running in a northerly direction from the Osgoode boundary, then heading in a north-westerly direction toward the High Road and Cunningham's Hotel, then to Hogs Back and on to Bytown.
Here are some photos of our beautiful cemetery grounds: